# **The International Nursing Code**

In the full knowledge of the obligation I am undertaking, I promise to care for the sick with all the skill and understanding I possess, without regard to race, creed, politics, or social status, sparing no effort to conserve life, to alleviate suffering and to promote health.

I will at all times respect the dignity and religious beliefs of the patients under my care, holding in confidence all personal information entrusted to me and refraining from any action which might endanger life and health.

I will endeavor to keep my professional knowledge and skills at the highest level and to give support and cooperation to all members of the health care team.

I will do my utmost to honor the International Code of Ethics applied to nursing and to uphold the integrity of the nurse.

# Special thanks to the students and staff who made this ceremony possible

Joanne Davis

Brittany Fiero

James Hayhurst

Kevin Garland

Karen Minton

Zac Schmidt

Parry Barrows

December 2020 Class Officers

The Office of University Events staff









10 a.m. Saturday, Nov. 21, 2020 Kroger Field's Blue Lot

## Hosted by

University of Kentucky College of Nursing December 2020 Class Officers

## **Program**

#### Presiding

Nic Alford, BSN Candidate, Class of December 2020

Class President

#### Greetings

Janie Heath, PhD, APRN-BC, FAAN, FNAP, FAANP

Dean and Warwick Professor of Nursing

#### **Student Speaker**

Danielle Duncan, BSN Candidate, Class of December 2020

#### **Recognition of Research and Education Interns**

Kristin Ashford, PhD, WHNP-BC, FAAN

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Faculty Affairs and Interprofessional Education Affairs, Professor

#### **Presentation of Baccalaureate Graduates**

Dr. Kristin Ashford

Vicki Hensley, PhD, APRN, CPNP

Assistant Professor, Class Advisor

#### **Presentation of Student Awards**

Joanne Davis

Assistant Dean of Students

Taylor Ann Davis Leadership Award

College of Nursing Alumni Association Nightingale Award

Delta Psi Senior Nurse Award

Baptist Healthcare Lexington Nursing Leadership Award

UK HealthCare Commitment to Nursing Excellence Award

College of Nursing Faculty Award

#### **International Nursing Code**

Nic Alford

#### **Closing Remarks**

Dr. Janie Heath

#### Parade of gradudates

Instructions to be provided

## The Pin

The first Dean of the College of Nursing, Dr. Marcia Dake, two faculty members and students from the 1964 graduating class were inspired by the sculpture that originally stood in front of the medical center. The sculpture, created by Amarigo J. Brioschi, formally called the Sculpture of Duality, is more commonly known as "the boomerangs."

Dr. Janie Heath, the fifth dean of the College of Nursing, commonly describes the boomerang's symbolism as "soaring high with excellence and staying grounded with values."

To accept the nursing pin symbolizes that the graduate has earned the privilege to practice nursing and also accepts many responsibilities. The main responsibility, however, is the promise to the public to offer safe, quality care. To do this, the professional nurse must not only have adequate knowledge at this moment, but must continue to learn. The nursing pin communicates to consumers of nursing services that the professional nurse is competent, educated, knowledgeable and possesses professional attributes.

Congratulations Class of December 2020!

Wear your pin with pride!



## **Bachelor of Science in Nursing Candidates**

Candace Adams Alexandra Foley Madison Adams Elizabeth Fort Alexis Adkins Lauren Fulcher Katherine Akin Shelby Garrett Noah Albritton Kelly Gozdecki Nic Alford Allison Greensfelder Hannah Asbell Kristen Gregory Anthony Ballard Rhonda Guilbeaux Amanda Baumann Madison Hawes Jackson Hensley Brittany Beveridge Sarah Blevins Erin Holba Hannah Bradley Jordan Huff Elizabeth Britton Kellie Irmick Bethany Bromagen Madison Kelly Ruth Brown Minji Kim Larisa Caudill Claire Kinmon McKenzie Clodi Mary Klir Morgan Collier Carly Kruse Rachel Collins Savannah Land Jenna Cooper Allie Laslie Francesca Cordini Alexandra Law Madeline Decker Jenna Lawson Anna Doyle Lindsey LeComte Lauren Dreves Olivia Leece Brianna Dunbar Emma-Kate Lewis Danielle Duncan Peyton Lewis Patrick Mason Megan DuVall Melissa Edmiston Julia Mathes Taylor England Hannah McGown Laurel Enix Cara McNiel Lexi Ennis Gideon Measner Aubren Espinosa Juliet Medley Kirkland Fletcher Sarah Menger Brielle Flora Morgen Minor

Samantha Mitchell Jessica Mitchell Miranda Mobley Tabitha Morris Laderia Murray Stephen Myers Amy Nielsen Veronica Paul Daniel Pemberton Gabriela Perez Genesis Pope Samantha Price Abigail Renner Kathleen Reschke Cheri Rideout Kristen Ross Autumn Roten Danielle Satler Autumn Saultzman **Emily Sheets** Elizabeth Shehan Lauren Stapp Kaitlyn Stierwalt Camryn Sudlow Meredith Sullivan Misty Vaughn Chancey Wallace Anna White Emma Wilson Eric Wright Kelsey Young Julia Zubrow

## **BSN Senior Class Officers**

Nic Alford Danielle Duncan
President UNAAC Representative

Minji Kim Amy Nielson

Vice President Second Degree Representative

Juliet Medley Miranda Mobley
Secretary MedVet Representative

Genesis Hope Treasurer

# **Undergraduate Nursing Education Interns**

#### **Abigail Renner**

Project: How to conduct a Proper SBAR Report Mentor: Suzanne Pilon, DNP, APRN, AGCNS-BC

# **Undergraduate Nursing Research Interns**

#### **Madison Adams**

Project: The Effects of Perinatal Loss on the Behavior of Subsequent

Children at Ages 3 and 5 Years

Mentor: Marianne Hutti, PhD, WHNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN

## Carly Kruse

Project: Comparison of Interdisciplinary Barriers to Ambulating

Mechanically Ventilated Patients

Mentor: Jacob Higgins, PhD, RN, CCRN-K

## **Student Nurses Association**

The UK Chapter of the National Student Nurses' Association (NSNA) is dedicated to fostering the professional development of nursing students. The organization has 60,000 members in 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Hannah Asbell Miranda Mobley Sarah Blevins Abigail Renner Minji Kim Julia Zubrow

Jessica Mitchell

# **Dean's Interprofessional Health Care Honors Colloquium**

Selected junior year students participate in an honors colloquium that includes interactive seminars to explore health care implications of interprofessional practice and work in teams to develop an interprofessional project.

Anna Doyle Carly Kruse
Shelby Garrett Lauren Stapp
Minji Kim

